The Answer is Always Yes

Yes

“Do you want to go to the opera?”

“Opera! Since when has the girl who won’t listen to anything but top 40’s pop music been interested in opera?”

“I’m not, but I saw it’s playing at the Performing Arts Centre and I figure I should try opera once in my lifetime.”

There is silence on the other end of the line.

“Besides,” she presses, “You know I hate driving to the city so we should take advantages of these local shows whenever we can, if nobody goes they’ll stop being local shows altogether and then what?” She emphasises the last word for effect.

Defeated sighs breather through the receiver, “Fine, when’s it on?”

She smiles triumphantly. She knew the answer would be yes, the answer is always yes, “September.”

“September?”

“Yeah, I want to book early so we don’t miss out.”

“Gee, I don’t know now, that’s five months away, what if we’re not friends anymore?”

“Oh ha, ha, you’re so funny” she rolls her eyes at the lame humour.

“Sorry, just a little joke to start your working week.”

“We’ve been friends for like five years now, I think it’s safe to assume we’ll still be friends in five months, so are you coming or not?”

“Ok, ok, I’ve already said fine, so who else is coming?”

“Not sure yet, you’re the first person I asked.”


So there you have it, the possible opener to my very first novel, what did you think? I tried to provide a little insight into the characters personality and their relationship as well as foreshadow what’s to come whilst still providing some intrigue. Have I succeeded? Was there enough of a hook for you to want to read more?

Comments

