My Ultimate Authors Dinner Party

Four Authors on my Dinner Party Guest List
I recently read an article titled, The Authors (Dead and Alive) at my Ideal Dinner Party, via Read it Forward. This of course had me thinking, which famous authors would I like to have on my next dinner party guest list? It would be an intimate affair of just four I think. That way I would have enough time to chat with each of them. Here’s who I came up with…

1. Liane Moriarty

Several years back I helped a friend move house. My reward, that I could borrow any book from her extensive library. I browsed and browsed and finally decided on Three Wishes by, to me at the time, an unknown author. I’ve never believed a book could change your life but reading that novel was the push I needed to pursue a career as a writer. The book gave me complete writers envy. After I finished reading it I thought, this is the type of story I want to publish. This is the kind of author I want to be.

“Try not to saddle yourself with too distinct a personality too early in life. It might not suit you later on.”
~
Liane Moriarty, Three Wishes

2. Jane Austen

I don’t think I’ve ever met an avid romance writer who has not fallen in love with the story of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy in Pride and Prejudice. And the Colin Firth film adaptation, love it! The romance, the thought-provoking reflections on society at the time, the honesty, it’s one of my favourite novels. If I had the privilege of meeting Ms Austen I’d want to know all about the hurdles she faced pursuing a career as an author in a male dominated world. A world where women were supposed to simply marry and keep house – a sentiment sadly still shared by some even today.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”
~ Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

3. J.K. Rowling

A dinner party would not be complete without one of the world’s most famous authors. Harry Potter Goblet and the Goblet of Fire is one of my all-time favourite books. The suspense and intrigue was gripping. It has thus far been the only book to keep me up all night reading. I had to know who put Harry’s name in the cup. I pretty much accused everyone accept the actual culprit. My writing comes from real life experiences. I could never write fantasy. I would love to know where she gets all of her amazing ideas from.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.”
~ J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

4. Richard Castle

Ok, so technically this is a fictional character from the television series Castle. And I am yet to read the Nikki Heat books published by a ghost writer. But how cool would it be to share a dinner table with Richard Castle. Not to mention hilarious, especially if I turned the dinner party into a murder mystery. Yes, that would be fun. And let’s not forget the eye candy factor. There’s something about having an attractive man in your presence that makes an evening more enjoyable. Hmm… might send the other ladies home and just keep Castle around for dessert. Now, that would be fun.

“There are two kinds of folks who sit around thinking about how to kill people: psychopaths and mystery writers.”
~ Richard Castle

So there you have it, my top four authors to share a meal with. Which authors (dead or alive) would you invite to your next dinner party?

 

Comments

